Failure!

The blue tinged xerogels were caused by the leak. the leak was due to poor cleaning of the threads for the input Choke Valve. The original setup had a 90º angle made of brass, and when I replaced the incoming Needle Valve (as it failed) with the Choke Valve, I split the Female socket of the 90º elbow. So I pulled it out, and I thought I cleaned the threads, but I must have missed something.

Saturday morning the Autoclave was at 400 PSI. Where the choke valve was screwed into the cap was a popping and a hissing. I shut off everything, screwed it tighter, hooked up a fresh CO2 tank, etc. I managed to set it back up to where it needed to be, but the damage was done. There was still ethyl in the system when I evacuated it last night.

DAMNATION!

About Rey d`Tutto

Hey, Y'all, I've been rather ill recently, and that has kinda deprived me of the ability to post regularly. I may or may not ever post regularly again. Thank you for playing.
This entry was posted in Aerogel. Bookmark the permalink.

Remember; Think, Then Post

