More God-Damned waiting.

The thing is, it is 2.5 years since i began this endeavor, and i have yet to produce anything worth selling.

The kid i took inspiration from initially had help from his mechanical engineer of a father. but i’m a reasonably intelligent fellow. I’ve had professional help, that delayed me by over a year from implementing my original design. but on the other side, the chemistry help i received from the same source saved me i don’t know how many hours of research and failure. there are some things you can’t learn from a book, or online. to learn them, you must do.

in the service, we trained in all tasks in all weather, as modern warfare seldom waits on a sunny day. additionally, as there have been battles and wars won by inclement weather throughout history (try invading russia in winter. no, really…), military minds don’t want cold and wet soldiers to have their mind on how miserable they are, but on killing the enemy. ensure as best you can appropriate gear for the climate, with extra in case of extremes, and the investment in lives trained to kill won’t be wasted on trying to stay warm and dry.

I digress. it’s depressing to believe the work i have put forth so far has been futile. I want the payoff. I wanna reproduce the effect. and i don’t want to have wasted over $3K and the time over the past couple of years.

I can talk big, and entertain many. i was so god-damned close last time. I have metaphorical Blue-Balls.

teh lesson, folks, is if you aim for the stars and hit dirt enough, it really, really, really sucks, and you start to have the whole project.

I’d quit at this point but for the fact that if I were to put it all away, in a week or two i’d be pulling it back out, a piece at a time, and i’d be that much further behind once i got over myself. Though the unexamined life is not worth living, over thinking things doesn’t always create the expected results, but more doubt.

I do realize it is Nanotechnology, and i am crafting it in a back-yard lab, with little to no funding, and only in my “spare” time (not Working, Sleeping, Time with my Son, Wife, Boyfriend, or Lackeys, or time flirting in bars, or chores, or holidays, etc.). My wife says it is my mistress, as it takes away my time, money and attention, but any mistress i was so beggarly with wouldn’t stick around. They all want texting, and messages, and phone calls, and dates, and such, and currently, my physical appetites, though not diminished, are less important to me than completing the beginning of the Great Work. DOW says “Better living through Chemistry”, I say better lives through Technology.

Now is the Future. I want to help usher it into our lives, and help lead the way.

 

About Rey d`Tutto

Hey, Y'all, I've been rather ill recently, and that has kinda deprived me of the ability to post regularly. I may or may not ever post regularly again. Thank you for playing.
This entry was posted in Aerogel, Daily, For Science!, random thoughts.. Bookmark the permalink.

Remember; Think, Then Post