Holiday Review

So far, this year I have managed to mix 12 batches, with a gelation failure Rate of 10-15% for the individual ‘Gels. This is a Decrease by 5-10%, as the year prior I had a 15-25% gelation failure rate.

Decanting, I had about a 1 in 10 success rate, or around 10%.  Redesigning the Molds requires me to cut Glass or use muffin pans. So the next time I mix the ‘Gels, I hope to have 6 Cut Mason Jar tops, and one 6-muffin pan, to test extraction methods. In addition to the Waxed Jar, I will try Waxed Paper and Aluminum Foil.

The Autoclave has had its share of problems, aside from the chemistry and mechanical handling issues above. I have run two batches through it, both of which lost pressure due to the Check Valve (once over-tightened, once through Valve Failure). the Static tests allowed me to refine my Autoclave, and I am redesigning the entire doohickey based upon the results I have seen to date, along with technical help from some unexpected quarters.

The support I have had so far has been tremendous. My intimates, and close relations that know what I am about are not fully supportive of the overall-world-domination scheme, but they are universally supportive of the initial stages.

Recently learning my ADD is not simply a personality quirk, but a medicationable symptom of lack of certain neurotransmitters has been enlightening in more than one way. The depression I assumed was due to intelligence and the state of world affairs, financial and personal issues, as well as the lack of success in this endeavor seemed a natural result of the universe’s indifferent scorn upon my house. But knowing I’m handicapped in yet another way? I’m starting to feel the “Bring it on!” confidence and overweening pride in the accomplishments I have yet to fail. Knowing that others seem to think I can get this process right, and that I have come as far as I have in the process, lets me believe I may be able to do it once and finally correctly.

Oh, I also know how and why my silicon molds were failing. Getting that worked out will let me create the kewlist 1337 techie-toy for next Christmas. Wish me luck.

About Rey d`Tutto

Hey, Y'all, I've been rather ill recently, and that has kinda deprived me of the ability to post regularly. I may or may not ever post regularly again. Thank you for playing.
This entry was posted in Aerogel, For Science!. Bookmark the permalink.

Remember; Think, Then Post

