Leveraging Technology to Improve the Human Condition.

I am currently posting the beginning of batch #10.

To begin, I have two form designs. The superior method requires waiting until Sunday to create the forms, as I require tools and skills I do not currently have. So, tonight, I used the other method, which requires a sealant. I have multiple options for sealants, so to keep track, I’ll call them Z, Y, X, and so forth as necessary.

The forms are constructed using 2 PVC Rings, a Test cap, and as stated above, some sealant.  The 3″ test cap is PVC. The 1″ tall 3″ diameter Ring fits it snugly, hopefully preventing leakage. The actual monolith form is a section of Outdoor Conduit SCH40 2.5″ diameter PVC Pipe, cut to 2″ lengths.  It has an interior diameter of 2-7/16″ (just under 2.5″). The ‘Clave has a 2.75″ I.D.

I mixed 1.5 batches (320ml, approx). I have four monoliths Poured The above mentioned forms, sealed at the end with material Z, to approx 1″ height. Tomorrow (After I wake up is tomorrow. Ignore the timestamps; no, really. I ain’t sleepin’ yet, so it’s still today!) I will pour four more Monoliths into the same doohickeys (but using material Y as a sealant), after decanting the current batch.

Anyhoo. Take care y’all.

About Rey d`Tutto

Hey, Y'all, I've been rather ill recently, and that has kinda deprived me of the ability to post regularly. I may or may not ever post regularly again. Thank you for playing.
This entry was posted in Aerogel, For Science!. Bookmark the permalink.

Remember; Think, Then Post

