Expectation and outcomes

I really have a hard time believing that the hands typing this note, the hands that made “1’s & 0’s dance” for family, friends, and customers for the past 20+ years, hands that racked servers & ran cabling and socketed plugs into ports, hands that have had a far further and much less engaging impact via virtual work, that these hands are making an advanced material.
I’ve worked on cars and trucks and small engines since my days in the WAARNG. I couldn’t tell you how many quarts of oil or transmission or brake fluid I’ve changed. I can tell you of the automotive engineers (@ least the ones who designed Specific Vehicles) that I have cursed, and as to what idiocy prompted it. I might estimate the percent of skin I’ve scraped, scratched, cut, burned, or otherwise left in an engine compartment or on an undercarriage. But that’s just replacing worn parts, simple maintenance of someone else’s crafting. Then again, I’ve assembled the parts, and built servers & desktops from motherboard to functional systems. But Aerogel?

Aerogel preparation is a Chemistry experiment, followed by a Physics experiment or two more, depending on production method used. Some folks will argue that its all Chemistry, but I disagree based upon the following: I’ve done it more than once before, and I’m doing it again, I plan to continue, and this is how I done it.

It is just that success is not only both a weird, anti-deja-vu like distraction, and that it is unexpected (and literally unplanned for when I initially pursued this crafting, as I was thinking tens of milliliters, and I’m now planning cubic meters), but that it has also been, quite paradoxically, humbling (current production of 1 liter per batch… Oh boy!).

Anyhoo, I’ve got another paper to read, another method to plan and prepare for, and chores, as the dishes and clothing still refuse to wash themselves.

Joy and Peace, y’all!

About Rey d`Tutto

Hey, Y'all, I've been rather ill recently, and that has kinda deprived me of the ability to post regularly. I may or may not ever post regularly again. Thank you for playing.
This entry was posted in Aerogel, Daily, For Science! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Remember; Think, Then Post

